Judicial Nominating Commission

*Although the number of districts and their boundaries have changed over time, Oklahoma State Constitution (Article 7B §3) dictates that the boundaries for these elections are the Congressional Districts as they existed when the article was adopted in 1967.


About the Commission

The Judicial Nominating Commission (JNC) consists of 15 unpaid volunteer members. Of the 15 members, only six members are lawyers. Lawyer commissioners are elected by their fellow Oklahoma Bar Association members, each representing one of six congressional districts across the state, as they were in 1967 when the commission was established.* They each serve a 6-year term. Elections are held each odd-numbered year for members from two districts.

Learn more about the commission on CourtFacts or the Oklahoma Supreme Court Network JNC website.

2023 Election Results: Click Here to View

2023 Election Information

The deadline for nominating petitions was 5 p.m. May 19, 2023. View information about the District 1 and 2 nominees here.

In 2023 there were elections for members in Districts 1 and 2. District 1 is composed of Creek and Tulsa counties. District 2 is composed of 17 counties in the eastern and northeastern parts of the state, as those congressional districts existed in 1967.* (See map below.)

Ballots and Voting

Ballots were mailed June 2, 2023, to active attorneys in good standing in Congressional District 1. The nominee for District 2 was an uncontested candidate, therefore no ballots were mailed.

The deadline for ballots to be received at the Oklahoma Bar Center was 5 p.m., June 16, 2023.

Ballots were tabulated on June 19, 2023.

Elections results were announced June 20, 2023.


The six districts as they were in 1967, and as shown in Title 14 §3 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

District Map

District 1
District 2
District 3
District 4
District 5
District 6