District 5 & 6 Commissioners Announced for JNC

June 21, 2021

Two new attorney members of the Oklahoma Nominating Commission were elected Monday, June 21, 2021, from Oklahoma’s District Five and District Six.

Ballots were counted at the Oklahoma Bar Association following the closing of the election on Friday, June 18, 2021.

Joel C. Hall was elected for District Five and David K. Petty was elected for District Six. They were each elected to serve six year terms on the 15-member volunteer Judicial Nominating Commission.

Joel C. Hall earned a sufficient number of votes to avoid a run-off in the three-way contest to represent District Five that includes most of Oklahoma County.

Hall is a 1986 graduate of the University of Oklahoma where he earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance degree and is a 1989 graduate of the University of Oklahoma College of Law with Honors. He is a member of Hall & Ludlam, P.L.L.C.  His practice primarily involves business and consumer litigation, bankruptcy and insolvency and debtor/creditor relations.

Hall is admitted to practice in the State of Oklahoma, United States District Court for the Western, Eastern and Northern Districts of Oklahoma and the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit. He is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association (Bankruptcy and Reorganization Section) and the Oklahoma County Bar Association (Bankruptcy Section).  Joel has served on the Chapter 7 Panel of Trustees for the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Oklahoma since 1998.  He has also served with and volunteered in various community organizations and his church.

David K. Petty was elected to the District Six position. The district includes 22 counties in Northwest Oklahoma.

Petty is an OU College of Law graduate, admitted in USDC Eastern and Western Districts of Oklahoma, US 10th Circuit, US Supreme Court. OBA; Board of Governors 1980-1982; President 1987. Prior service: Associate, Board of Bar Examiners; Chairman, MCLE Committee; Professional Responsibility Commission; OBF Board of Trustees; Board of Directors OBPLIC; OBF Distinguished Service Award 1986-1987; ABOTA, Okla. Chapter, Award of Meritorious Service 1987; Professionalism Award 1989; President’s Award 1993 & 2009; Solo and Small Firm Life Achievement Award 2003.

Petty is a member of ABA, American College of Trial Lawyers, American College of Trust and Estate Counsel and American Board of Trial Advocates.

About the Oklahoma Judicial Nominating Commission

1. Article 7-B, Section 3, of the Oklahoma Constitution requires elections be held in each odd numbered year by Active members of the Oklahoma Bar Association to elect two members of the Judicial Nominating Commission for six-year terms from Congressional Districts as such districts existed at the date of adoption of Article 7-B of the Oklahoma Constitution (1967).

News Category: ,