President’s Awards Recognize Champions of Covid-19

November 13, 2020

Nov. 13, 2020 – OBA President Susan B. Shields announced winners of the 2020 President’s Awards during a virtual General Assembly program as part of the 2020 Annual Meeting.

Shields awarded Board of Governors Vice President Brandi Nowakowski and Past President Chuck W. Chesnut in appreciation of their support and friendship, and in recognition of their outstanding service as members of the OBA Board of Governors.

Shields also announced a new category of award called, “Champions of Covid-19.” She presented the first Champion of Covid-19 award to Lawyers Helping Lawyers for outstanding contributions and assistance to the members of the OBA during 2020. She also presented Champions of Covid-19 awards to the OBA employees and Executive Director John Morris Williams, and the organizers of “The Crime, The Trial, The Response” CLE program marking the 25th anniversary of the Oklahoma City bombing.

OBA Past Presidents Melissa Delacerda and Stephen Beam along with Historian Bob Burke and former OBA CLE Director Susan Damron were recognized for organizing “The Crime, The Trial, The Response” program that was rescheduled from April to September because of the global pandemic. In addition to excellent programming, the event accommodated more than 150 attendees who were able to social distance safely and interact with the live programming. The program remains available through OBA-CLE.