Oklahoma Bar Association

Home  |  Members  |  Resources  |  About


OBA Board of Governors Elections

November 13, 2019

Susan B. Shields of Oklahoma City will serve as the Oklahoma Bar Association’s president beginning Jan. 1, 2020, following a year as president-elect.

Shields is a shareholder with McAfee & Taft and practices in the areas of estate and family wealth planning, estate and trust administration, business planning and charitable organizations. She was born in Bartlesville and earned her B.A. with honors from Stanford University in 1986 and her J.D. from the UCLA School of Law in 1989. After law school, she practiced with a large San Francisco law firm for several years and then returned to Oklahoma in 1991.

She is a member of the Oklahoma County, California and American bar associations. From 2009-2012, Shields served on the OBA Board of Governors. In 2014, she served as vice president of the OBA. She served as Oklahoma Bar Foundation (OBF) president in 2013 and as an OBF Trustee from 2007-2014. She is a former OBA Estate Planning, Probate and Trust Section chair, chair of the Board of Governors Budget Committee and a former member of numerous OBA committees.

In 2005, 2010 and 2015, Shields was a finalist for The Journal Record’s Woman of the Year Award. She has received numerous awards including the Outstanding Pro Bono Lawyer Award from Legal Aid of Western Oklahoma, OBA Earl Sneed Award and Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award.

She served as OCBA director from 2014-2016 and has been a frequent speaker on a variety of estate planning, probate and nonprofit topics for OBA CLE and other seminars. She has also taught as an adjunct professor at the OU College of Law and has served on the boards of a number of local nonprofit organizations.

Michael C. Mordy of Ardmore will serve as president-elect and Brandi Nowakowski of Shawnee will serve as vice president. Miami attorney Charles W. Chesnut, who serves as the 2019 OBA president, will remain on the OBA Board of Governors for one year as immediate past president. Jordan Haygood of Oklahoma City will serve a one-year term as the OBA Young Lawyers Division chairperson.

Also elected to the OBA Board of Governors to represent their respective Supreme Court judicial district are Michael J. Davis of Durant, Joshua A. Edwards of Ada and Robin L. Rochelle of Lawton. They will serve three-year terms. Amber Peckio Garrett of Tulsa will also serve a three-year term as a member at large.

New officers and Board of Governors members will take office Jan. 1, 2020. They will be part of the OBA’s 17-member Board of Governors, which meets monthly and governs the association.

OBA leadership roles are voluntary positions in which lawyers serve while continuing to practice law.


Other bar business conducted at Annual Meeting included the presentation of awards and the House of Delegates actions, in which Title Examination Standards were approved. The House of Delegates also approved one resolution as amended regarding mandatory continuing legal education requirements.

The 18,000-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.

News Category: ,