Oklahoma Bar Association

Home  |  Members  |  Resources  |  About


OBA Annual Meeting Concludes, Bar Business Results Announced

November 12, 2018

The Oklahoma Bar Association Annual Meeting concluded at noon, Friday, Nov. 9, 2018, after the OBA House of Delegates meeting held at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Tulsa. Prior to the meeting and pursuant to Article III, Section 3 of the OBA Bylaws, six members were deemed elected to the OBA Board of Governors due to no other person filing for the position.

Susan B. Shields of Oklahoma City will serve as the 2019 OBA president-elect, assuming the office of OBA president on Jan. 1, 2020. Lane R. Neal of Oklahoma City will serve as vice president during the upcoming year with Charles W. Chesnut of Miami, who as the current president-elect becomes president Jan. 1, 2019.

OBA members who also ran unopposed and will take office Jan. 1, 2019, are David T. McKenzie, Oklahoma City, Supreme Court Judicial District Three; Tim E. DeClerck, Enid, Supreme Court Judicial District Four; Andrew E. Hutter, Norman, Supreme Court Judicial District Five; and Miles T. Pringle, Oklahoma City, member at large.

The House of Delegates voted to adopt a resolution which amends the Oklahoma Rules of Professional Conduct to add a limited exception for lawyers providing counsel to clients regarding marijuana-related laws. The resolution was published in the OBJ 89 26 (October).

Revisions and additions to the Oklahoma Title Examination Standards published in the OBJ 89 1395 (Oct. 13, 2018) were approved and are effective immediately.

News Category: , ,