Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Owasso High School Team KB Takes Fourth Place in Mock Trial Competition

Owasso HS KB Team

Mock Trial Committee member Michael Nesser presents the Owasso High School KB team with a plaque honoring its fourth-place finish.

(March 7, 2018 – OKLAHOMA CITY) Owasso High School’s KB team placed fourth in the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Competition. Owasso was one of eight teams from across the state to advance to the semifinals. Owasso’s Audrey Cantrell team ultimately won the championship during the final round of competition Tuesday evening.

“I am proud of all of the hard work these students did to prepare for this competition,” Oklahoma Bar Association President Kimberly Hays of Tulsa said. “The teams did an excellent job, and I know the Owasso Audrey Cantrell team will represent Oklahoma well at the national competition in Reno, Nevada, in May. No matter the outcome, the students are able to take away useful skills and a better understanding of our legal system. That to me is a win.”

KB team members are Jesse Anderson, Emma Donohue, Avery Hendel, Jacob Lewis, Ciara Locker, Maggie Murphy, Mathew Musser, Megan Phillips, Jenna Randall, Parker Stephens and Presley Stephens.

The judges evaluated the students based on their familiarity of the case and the formulation of their arguments. Students received points for each phase of the trial, opening, direct and cross examination, closing argument and how well their witnesses responded. Teams are paired with volunteer attorney coaches. The Owasso teams were coached by attorneys Judge Deirdre Dexter, Judge Daman Cantrell, Ken Underwood, Michon Hughes and Clint Hastings and teacher Kathy Rutherford.

Out of the 42 teams across the state that began competing in January, the other top finishers are, in second place: Owasso Sydney Hazelrigg Team; third place: Bishop Kelly in Tulsa; fifth: McAlester High School; sixth: Mustang High School; seventh: Broken Arrow High School and eighth: Stillwater High School. Owasso had five teams participate in the program.

Presiding judge for the final round of the competition was Retired Judge Edward Cunningham. Scoring judges were Justice Patrick Wyrick, Judge Sarah Hall, Judge David Lewis, Judge Shon Erwin and Judge Jequita Napoli.

The Mock Trial Program is sponsored and funded by the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and the Oklahoma Bar Association Young Lawyers Division. Nearly 400 judges and attorneys volunteered their time to work with mock trial teams as coaches and to conduct the competitions.

“While students can gain similar skills in other high school courses, the Mock Trial Program is different because of the interaction and collaboration with legal professionals,” President Hays said. “I’d like to thank all of the coaches and volunteers who made this year’s program a success.”

The foundation, through its grants and awards program, allocates funds to nonprofit agencies and programs like mock trial. The mission of the foundation is to ensure justice is possible for all Oklahomans through the promotion of law, education and access to justice. The 18,000-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.

For more information contact:
Carol Manning
OBA Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7016 |