Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Owasso High School’s Sydney Hazelrigg Team Places Second in Mock Trial Competition

Owasso HS Hazelrigg Team

Owasso High School’s Team Sydney Hazelrigg poses with its trophy for winning second place.

Roan Locker and Emily Carr

Ronan Locker earned best attorney honors and Emily Carr earned distinction as best witness for Team Sydney Hazelrigg.

(March 7, 2018 – OKLAHOMA CITY) Owasso High School’s Sydney Hazelrigg team was the runner up in the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Competition. They were bested by the school’s Audrey Cantrell team, which won the championship.

For the first time in the history of the Mock Trial Program, two teams from the same school competed in the finals. The final round of competition was held Tuesday evening at the University of Oklahoma College of Law in Norman. The two teams argued a case that focused on a homicide case, where the creator and lead singer of a band was charged with the murder of the band’s lead guitarist. The case is complicated by the fact that the cause of death is being disputed as a blood clot by the expert for the defense.

“I am proud of all of the hard work these students did to prepare for this competition,” Oklahoma Bar Association President Kimberly Hays of Tulsa said. “Both teams did an excellent job and I know the Owasso Audrey Cantrell team will represent Oklahoma well at the national competition in Reno, Nevada, in May. No matter the outcome, the students are able to take away useful skills and a better understanding of our legal system. That to me is a win.”

Winner of the best attorney award for the Sydney Hazelrigg team was Ronan Locker and Emily Carr earned honors as the best witness.

The judges evaluated the students based on their familiarity of the case and the formulation of their arguments. Students received points for each phase of the trial, opening, direct and cross examination, closing argument and how well their witnesses responded. Teams are paired with volunteer attorney coaches. The Owasso teams were coached by attorneys Judge Deirdre Dexter, Judge Daman Cantrell, Ken Underwood, Michon Hughes and Clint Hastings and teacher Kathy Rutherford.

Sydney Hazelrigg team members are Emily Carr, Preston Dunbar, Maggie Hazelrigg, Ronan Locker, Morgan Meyer, Kennedy Patterson, Logan Schofield, Katy Turner and Jackie Zafaras.

Out of the 42 teams across the state that began competing in January, the other top finishers are, in third place: Bishop Kelly in Tulsa; fourth: Owasso High School KB Team; fifth: McAlester High School; sixth: Mustang High School; seventh: Broken Arrow High School and eighth: Stillwater High School. Owasso had five teams participate in the program.

Presiding judge for the final round of the competition was Retired Judge Edward Cunningham. Scoring judges were Justice Patrick Wyrick, Judge Sarah Hall, Judge David Lewis, Judge Shon Erwin and Judge Jequita Napoli.

The Mock Trial Program is sponsored and funded by the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and the Oklahoma Bar Association Young Lawyers Division. Nearly 400 judges and attorneys volunteered their time to work with mock trial teams as coaches and to conduct the competitions.

“While students can gain similar skills in other high school courses, the Mock Trial Program is different because of the interaction and collaboration with legal professionals,” President Hays said. “I’d like to thank all of the coaches and volunteers who made this year’s program a success.”

The foundation, through its grants and awards program, allocates funds to nonprofit agencies and programs like mock trial. The mission of the foundation is to ensure justice is possible for all Oklahomans through the promotion of law, education and access to justice. The 18,000-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.

For more information contact:
Carol Manning
OBA Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7016 |