Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Owasso High School Teams Place in Mock Trial Competition

Owasso High School’s Sotomayor team members receive their Oklahoma Mock Trial second-place trophies.

The Owasso High School’s O’Connor team places fourth in the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial competition.

Team members on the Owasso High School’s Ginsburg team with their fifth-place plaque.

Maggie Murphy received the best attorney award and Emma Donohue received the best witness award for Owasso High School.

(March 8, 2017 – OKLAHOMA CITY)  Owasso High School’s Sotomayor team placed second, Owasso High School’s O’Connor team placed fourth and the Ginsburg team placed fifth in the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Competition.

The Sotomayor team was defeated by Jenks High School to finish as runner up in the finals of the 2017 Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Championship. The final round of competition was held Tuesday evening at the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma. The two teams argued a case that focused on the civil prosecution of a drilling company whose fracking is thought to be the cause of a 6.2 magnitude earth quake that destroyed the downtown of Wheatville.

 “The Mock Trial Program provides students with an opportunity to gain a unique insider’s perspective of the American legal process,” Oklahoma Bar Association Linda Thomas of Bartlesville said. “The OBA congratulates these eight teams for their hard work, and we are excited for Jenks High School to represent Oklahoma at the national competition in Hartford, Connecticut, in May.”

This year’s winners of the best attorney awards were Maggie Murphy of Owasso High School and Fallon Cochlin of Jenks High School. Emma Donohue of Owasso High School and Greyson Vaughn of Jenks High School were chosen as the best witnesses.

The judges evaluated the students based on their familiarity of the case and the formulation of their arguments. Students received points for each phase of the trial, opening, direct and cross examination, closing argument and how well their witnesses responded. Teams are paired with volunteer attorney coaches. The Owasso teams were coached by attorneys Michon Hughes, Clint Hastings, Deirdre Dexter, Rob Ridenour and teacher Kathy Rutherford.

Owasso High School’s Sotomayor team members are Tyler Owens, Maggie Murphy, Emma Donohue, Avery Hendel, Lauren Hughes, Kyler Patton, Briya Malone, Kelly O’Connor, Hannah Butts and Grace Nosak. O’Connor team members are Maggie Hazzelrigg, Ronan Locker, Morgan Meyer, Kennedy Patterson,Logan Schofield, Katy Turner, Aidan Harbaugh, Wes Hunter and Zoe Boschee. Ginsburg team members are Presley Stephens, Ciara Locker, Emma Ridenour, Tiffany Aguilar, Jenna Randall, Kyndal Baker, Aidan McCormick, Logan Finders, Carson Ball and Robbie Reardon.

Out of the 34 teams across the state that began competing in January, the other top finishers are, in third place: Clinton High School; sixth: Bishop Kelley; seventh: Jenks High School’s Tremors team; and eighth: Broken Arrow High School.

Presiding judge for the final round of the competition was Retired Judge Edward Cunningham. Scoring judges were Judge Paul J. Cleary, Judge Jane Wiseman, Judge Dana L. Rasure, Judge Shon Erwin and Judge Martha Rupp Carter.

The Mock Trial Program is sponsored and funded by the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and the Oklahoma Bar Association Young Lawyers Division. Nearly 400 judges and attorneys volunteered their time to work with mock trial teams as coaches and to conduct the competitions.

The foundation, through its grants and awards program, allocates funds to nonprofit agencies and programs like mock trial. The mission of the foundation is to ensure justice is possible for all Oklahomans through the promotion of law, education and access to justice. The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning,integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.

For more information contact:
Carol Manning
OBA Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7016 |