Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Jenks High School Teams Place in Mock Trial Competition

Jenks High School’s 6th Horn team members receive their Oklahoma Mock Trial championship trophies.

Jenks High School’s Tremors team placed seventh in the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial competition.

Fallon Choclin received the best attorney award and Greyson Vaughn received the best witness award for Jenks High School.

(March 8, 2017 – OKLAHOMA CITY)  Jenks High School’s 6th Horn team placed first and Jenks High School’s Tremors team placed seventh in the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Competition.

The 6th Horn team defeated Owasso High School in the final round of competition to claim the 2017 Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Championship. The final round of competition was held Tuesday evening at the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma. The two teams argued a fictional case that focused on the civil prosecution of a drilling company whose fracking is thought to be the cause of a 6.2 magnitude earthquake that destroyed the downtown of Wheatville.

 “The Mock Trial Program provides students with an opportunity to gain a unique insider’s perspective of the American legal process,” Oklahoma Bar Association Linda Thomas of Bartlesville said. “The OBA congratulates these eight teams for their hard work, and we are excited for Jenks High School to represent Oklahoma at the national competition in Hartford, Connecticut, in May.”

This year’s winners of the best attorney awards were Fallon Cochlin of Jenks High School and Maggie Murphy of Owasso High School. Greyson Vaughn of Jenks High School and Emma Donohue of Owasso High School were chosen as the best witnesses.

The judges evaluated the students based on their familiarity of the case and the formulation of their arguments. Students received points for each phase of the trial, opening, direct and cross examination, closing argument and how well their witnesses responded. Teams are paired with volunteer attorney coaches. The Jenks teams were coached by attorney and teacher Mike Horn and teacher Tim Sloan.

Jenks High School’s 6th Horn team members are Kathryn Aung, Fallon Cochlin, Delaney Cole, Robyn Coleman, Rachel Disler, Brianna Horn, Matthew Mills, Hardi Patel, Cathrine Raranje, Victoria Savage, Samantha Tomecek, Greyson Vaughn, Rachel Webster and Emily Yarber. Jenks High School’s Tremors team members are Madazyn Acton, Angela Cao, Gyllian Cunningham, Leslie Dalrymple, Steven Hull, Autumn Jensen, Treyton Kelly, Judith Nunez-Lopez, Iesha-Lashay Phillips, Angela Ray, Jasmin Roybar, Ian Staley,Kayla Stolz, Shianne Taylor, Tyler Thomas, Gabrielle Tiger and Tyler Willhite.

Out of the 34 teams across the state that began competing in January, the other top finishers are, in third place: Clinton High School; fourth: Owasso High School O’Connor team; fifth: Owasso High School Ginsburg team; sixth: Bishop Kelley; and eighth: Broken Arrow High School.

Presiding judge for the final round of the competition was Retired Judge Edward Cunningham. Scoring judges were Judge Paul J. Cleary, Judge Jane Wiseman, Judge Dana L. Rasure, Judge Shon Erwin and Judge Martha Rupp Carter.

The Mock Trial Program is sponsored and funded by the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and the Oklahoma Bar Association Young Lawyers Division. Nearly 400 judges and attorneys volunteered their time to work with mock trial teams as coaches and to conduct the competitions.

The foundation, through its grants and awards program, allocates funds to nonprofit agencies and programs like mock trial. The mission of the foundation is to ensure justice is possible for all Oklahomans through the promotion of law, education and access to justice. The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.

For more information contact:
Carol Manning
OBA Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7016 |