Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Linda S. Thomas Chosen as President-Elect for State Bar Association

Bartlesville attorney Linda S. Thomas was elected to serve on the Oklahoma Bar Association’s Board of Governors as the 2016 president-elect. She will be a part of the OBA’s 17-member Board of Governors, which meets monthly and governs the association.

Thomas is a sole practitioner in Bartlesville, focusing her practice in all areas of law associated with children and family. She received her J.D. from the TU College of Law and was admitted to the OBA in 1994.

Thomas served on the OBA Board of Governors, as OBA vice president and is currently serving on the OBA Professional Responsibility Commission. She has served as the chair or co-chair of the OBA Leadership Academy Task Force since 2007, and on numerous committees and task forces.

Thomas is the recipient of two OBA President’s Awards for excellence in leadership and outstanding service, the Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award, special recognition award from the Washington County Bar Association for her leadership, professionalism, and dedication to the bar and community, and was named as one of Oklahoma's pioneering women lawyers in Leading the Way: A Look at Oklahoma's Pioneering Women Lawyers.

She is active in her community, having served on the boards of several local organizations, including the Bartlesville Area United Way, Big Brothers and Sisters of Green Country, Bartlesville Family Care Services and the Run the Streets program, where she also served as a youth mentor.

Garvin A. Isaacs of Oklahoma City will fill the role of president and Paul D. Brunton of Tulsa will serve as vice president. Norman lawyer David Poarch, who serves as the 2015 OBA president will remain on the OBA Board of Governors for one year as immediate past president.

Also elected to the OBA Board of Governors to represent their respective Supreme Court judicial districts are James L. Kee of Duncan, John W. Coyle of Oklahoma City and Kaleb K. Hennigh of Enid. They will serve three-year terms. Also elected to a three-year term as member at large is Alissa Hutter of Norman. Bryon Will of Oklahoma City will serve a one-year term as OBA Young Lawyers Division chairperson.

New officers and Board of Governors members will take office Jan. 1, 2016. OBA leadership roles are voluntary positions in which lawyers serve while continuing to practice law.


Other bar business conducted at Annual Meeting included the presentation of awards and the House of Delegates actions, in which Title Examination Standards were approved. An online photo gallery will be posted soon.

The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.