Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases


(Jan. 13, 2015 – OKLAHOMA CITY) – Nine new members of the Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors will be sworn in to their positions Friday, Jan. 16, at 10:30 a.m. The ceremony will take place at the State Capitol, second floor Supreme Court Ceremonial Courtroom.

Norman attorney David A. Poarch Jr. will be sworn in as president. He currently practices with the firm of Bailey and Poarch in Norman, where he is engaged in real estate, probate and estate planning and a variety of litigated matters. He served as the assistant dean for external affairs at the University of Oklahoma College of Law from 1997 - 2011. He graduated from the OU College of Law in 1977. His role in OBA leadership is a voluntary position in which he will serve while continuing his law practice.

Poarch said his goal for the OBA in 2015 is continued commitment to several ongoing OBA projects.

“We plan to expand our programs that educate and promote a broader public understanding of the separation of powers between the judicial, legislative and executive branches,” said Poarch. “This will include sustained efforts to preserve and defend the independence of judges against pressures brought about by the politics of the moment.”

The OBA will also continue its Oklahoma Lawyers for America’s Heroes program offering free legal advice for qualifying military service members and veterans. To date, more than $2.5 million dollars in legal services has been donated by volunteer Oklahoma lawyers.

Garvin Isaacs Jr. of Oklahoma City will take the oath to serve as president-elect, and Glenn Devoll of Enid will be sworn in as vice president.

As president-elect, Isaacs will become OBA president on Jan. 1, 2016. He has been involved in general civil and criminal trial practice since 1978. His practice areas include negligence, wrongful death, nursing home injuries, medical malpractice, products liability against automobile manufacturers, bad faith insurance law, water pollution, oil and gas pipeline fraud and racial discrimination. He was admitted to the Oklahoma Bar in 1974.

Devoll is a shareholder and director with Gungoll, Jackson, Box & Devoll PC. He practices in the areas of oil and gas, corporate, banking and commercial transaction law. He graduated from the Oklahoma City University School of Law in 1977.

OBA Board of Governors members to be sworn in for three-year terms representing their judicial districts are James R. Gotwals of Tulsa, Roy D. Tucker of Muskogee and John Weedn of Miami. Sonja R. Porter of Oklahoma City will be sworn in to a three-year term as member-at-large. Renée DeMoss of Tulsa, past-president, and LeAnne McGill of Edmond, OBA Young Lawyers Division chairperson will take the oath to serve on the board for a one-year term.

The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma's legal community.

Press contact:
Lori Rasmussen

Assistant Director of Communications
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7017 |