Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases


Holland Hall

OBA committee member presents the Moore High School team with their Oklahoma Mock Trial Championship trophy and first-place medals.

2015 Mock Trial Finals Photo Gallery

Moore High School defeated Owasso High School Team Darrow in the final round of competition to claim the 2015 Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Championship. The final round of competition was held Tuesday evening at the OU Law Center in Norman. The two teams argued a case that focused on an individual accused of aggravated robbery with a dangerous weapon.

The Moore High School team will represent the state during the national competition to be held in Raleigh, North Carolina, in May. Team members are Grant Colquitt, Taylor Fisher, Gabi Glidewell, Peyton Johnson, Randi Mattox, Vanessa Meraz, Jackey Ortiz and Chason Ratliff.

Oklahoma Bar Association President David Poarch of Norman said, “I am proud of all of the hard work these students did to prepare for this competition. Both teams did an excellent job and I know Moore High School will represent Oklahoma well at the national competition. No matter the outcome, the students are able to take away useful skills and a better understanding of our legal system. That to me is a win.”

This year’s winners of the best attorney awards were Randi Mattox of Moore High School and Cymber St. Gemme of Owasso High School. Jackey Ortiz or Moore High School and Nick Hazelrigg of Owasso High School were chosen as the best witnesses.

The judges evaluated the students based on their familiarity of the case and the formulation of their arguments. Students received points for each phase of the trial, opening, direct and cross examination, closing argument and how well their witnesses responded. Teams are paired with volunteer attorney coaches. Moore’s attorney coach is Charlie Glidewell. The team is also coached by teachers Beverly Ferree, Ishmael Kissinger and Gavin Hart.

Out of the 37 teams across the state that began competing in January, the other top finishers are, in third place: Jenks High School Team Black; fourth: Southmoore High School; fifth: Ada High School; sixth: McAlester High School; seventh: Broken Arrow High School; and eighth: Owasso High School Team Williams.

Presiding judge for the final round of the competition was Retired Judge Edward Cunningham. Scoring judges were Retired Judge Glenn Adams, Retired Judge Kenneth Dickerson, Judge Shon Erwin, Judge David Lewis and Judge Mark Osby.

The Mock Trial Program is sponsored and funded by the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and the Oklahoma Bar Association Young Lawyers Division. Nearly 400 judges and attorneys volunteered their time to work with mock trial teams as coaches and to conduct the competitions.

The OBF bestows annual grants that provide free legal assistance for the poor and elderly, safe haven for the abused, protection and legal assistance for children, public law-related education programs including those for school children and other activities that improve the quality of justice for all Oklahomans. The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.

Press contact:
Mackenzie McDaniel

Communications Specialist
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7084 |

For more information contact:
Carol Manning
OBA Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7016 |