Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

New Bar Leaders Take Oath

Press contact:
Carol Manning

Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7016 |

Nine attorneys were sworn in Friday to the Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors during a ceremony at the State Capitol. Tulsa attorney Renée DeMoss has been sworn in as president, David A. Poarch Jr. of Norman was sworn in as president-elect and Susan S. Shields of Oklahoma City took the oath to serve as vice president.

DeMoss is a shareholder in the Tulsa law firm of Gable Gotwals. Her area of practice focuses on commercial litigation, ERISA, insurance law and general business matters. She has actively been involved with and held offices in numerous organizations throughout her career, including serving as president of the Tulsa County Bar Association, Tulsa County Bar Foundation and Oklahoma Bar Foundation.

DeMoss’ top goal for the OBA in 2014 is a focus on legal education, including increasing public understanding of courts and the judiciary.

Pianist Tom Nix

“Growing up, education was always emphasized in my family, and the general goal of education in the law evolved throughout the past year,” DeMoss said. “It is important that Oklahomans are educated on how our legal system works and how qualified judges are selected. We will be setting up an OBA speaker’s bureau and meeting with the public in courthouses across the state to discuss our system in town hall-type settings.

“Additionally, we will highlight our Law-related Education Committee’s focus on civics education for Oklahoma students, as well as Law Day programs. This year’s theme is Democracy and You, and addresses how we must preserve our democracy.”

Poarch will become OBA president on Jan. 1, 2015. He currently practices with the firm of Bailey and Poarch in Norman, where he is engaged in real estate, probate and estate planning, as well as a variety of litigated matters. He graduated from the OU College of Law in 1977.

Shields is a shareholder with McAfee & Taft and practices in the areas of estate and family wealth planning, estate and trust administration, business planning and charitable organizations. She earned her B.A. with honors from Stanford University in 1986 and her J.D. from the UCLA School of Law in 1989.

Other OBA Board of Governors members who were sworn in for three-year terms are Deirdre O’Neil Dexter of Sand Springs, John W. Kinslow of Lawton, James R. Marshall of Shawnee and Kevin T. Sain of Idabel. OBA 2013 President Jim Stuart of Shawnee and OBA Young Lawyers Division Chairperson Kaleb Hennigh of Enid took the oath of office to serve on the board for one year.

The 17,500-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma's legal community.