Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Judicial Nominating Commission Election Results Announced

Press contact:
Lori Rasmussen

Assistant Communications Director
Oklahoma Bar Association
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
P.O. Box 53036 | Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 416-7017 |

(Oklahoma City – June 25, 2013) Attorneys Michael C. Mordy of Ardmore and Peggy Stockwell of Norman have been elected by their fellow lawyers to serve on the state’s Judicial Nominating Commission. Each will serve as one of six lawyers on the 15-member commission, which plays a key role in the selection of Oklahoma judges.

Mordy will represent District 3, comprised of Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Cotton, Garvin, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Love, Marshall, McCurtain, Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole and Stephens counties.

Stockwell will represent District 4, comprised of Caddo, Cleveland, Comanche, Grady, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Kiowa, McClain, Pottawatomie, Tillman and Washita counties, as well as a portion of Oklahoma County.

Mike MordyMordy practices in the areas of oil and gas law, commercial litigation and general business litigation. He has practiced in Ardmore since1983 with the firm of Mordy & Mordy PC. He is admitted to practice before the U.S. District Courts of Oklahoma and the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals. He is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association as well as the Carter County Bar Association and the American Bar Association. He is a benefactor fellow of the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and currently serves on the Oklahoma Bar Foundation Board of Trustees. He served as a member of the OBA Board of Governors from 2004 - 2006, and he served as OBA vice president in 2008. He currently serves on the OBA Strategic Planning Committee Finance Subcommittee and Clients’ Security Fund Committee. He obtained his bachelor of business administration degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1977 and graduated from Oklahoma City University School of Law in 1980.

Peggy StockwellStockwell practices family law in Norman. She is also a mediator, arbitrator and guardian ad litem in family law cases. She served on the Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors from 2007-2009. She served as OBA vice president in 2012. She has served on several OBA committees including two terms on the Professional Responsibility Tribunal, which handles matters related to attorney discipline. She has been an active member of the Cleveland County Bar Association and served as its president in 2000. She takes cases for pro bono and Legal Aid Services and was awarded the Legal Aid Pro Bono Award in 1999 for her service. In addition, she was awarded the 1999 OBA Outstanding Service to the Public award. She received the Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award in 2005. She is a 1983 graduate of the OU College of Law.

The Judicial Nominating Commission is charged with selecting candidates for judicial appointments made by the governor. When there is a judicial vacancy on the Oklahoma Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals or the Court of Civil Appeals, the commission chooses a field of three candidates from which the governor will make her appointment. Oklahoma trial court judges are elected by popular vote, however mid-term vacancies are also filled by the nominating process.

The six lawyer members of the commission each represent districts that mirror Oklahoma’s six congressional districts as they existed in1967, when the commission was created. Elections are held each odd-numbered year for members from two districts. The Oklahoma Bar Association is charged with conducting the elections.

In addition to the six lawyer members of the Judicial Nominating Commission, there are six non‑lawyers appointed by the governor and three at‑large members. Of those three, one is selected by the speaker of the House of Representatives, one is selected by president pro tempore of the Senate and one is selected by at least eight commission members. All serve six-year terms, except the members at large who serve two-year terms. More information about the Judicial Nominating Commission is available online. 

The 17,200-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma's legal community.