Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Every active member of the Oklahoma Bar Association, age 65 and younger, who is practicing law in Oklahoma must complete a minimum of 12 CLE credits (including at least one legal ethics credit) by February 16, 2016.
The MCLE department is responsible for reviewing seminars for accreditation and for ensuring that our members who practice law in Oklahoma are in compliance with the annual educational requirement and ensuring that our members who are eligible for an MCLE exemption timely report their exemptions.
Failure to report the required approved CLE credits or failure to report one of the allowed exemptions could result in non-compliance fees ranging from $100 to $700. See fee structure.
Report Your MCLE Credits
It is your responsibility to make sure that your mandatory CLE credits are accurately and timely reported.
As soon as you attend an Oklahoma approved CLE program, make sure that the sponsor or you report your attendance. We allow sponsors 30 days to submit attendance reports. You can report your attendance by submitting a certificate of attendance, or the equivalent, from the sponsor. If you are close to a deadline, you should always provide verification of your attendance to the MCLE department, regardless of whether the sponsor agrees to report your attendance. You cannot report attendance online.
Find out who is eligible to report an exemption from the 12 credit annual requirement.
You don't qualify for an exemption. But because of an extreme hardship you are not able to earn the required credit by December 31. Waiver application form.
Sponsor and Member information about MCLE course accreditation. Sponsors are required to report OBA member attendees within 30 days, using one of our sponsor attendance reporting templates.