Judicial Nominating Commission


Attorney Jim R. Webb of Oklahoma City has been elected by his fellow lawyers to serve on the state’s Judicial Nominating Commission. He will serve as one of six lawyers on the 15-member commission, which plays a key role in the selection of Oklahoma judges.

Webb will represent District 5, comprised of all of Oklahoma County except for those portions described as State Senate District No. 42 and House District No. 96 as they existed in 1967. Other candidates were Jim T. Priest, Chad C. Taylor, Nancy S. Parrott, Michael H. Githens, Lance Leffel and Douglas Parr.

No candidate garnered more than 40 percent of the vote in the race for the JNC District 6 seat. In accordance with procedures governing the elections, attorneys Melissa DeLacerda of Stillwater and J. David Ezzell of Enid will face each other in a runoff election to determine the winner. Ballots will be mailed June 26 and are due back to the OBA by 5 p.m. on July 17. Biographical information about the two candidates is available online.

Webb has served as the executive vice president general counsel and corporate secretary for Chesapeake Energy Corp. since January 2014. Prior to joining Chesapeake in 2012, he practiced with McAfee & Taft in Oklahoma City from 1995-2012 and Gorsuch Kirgis in Denver, Colorado, from 1993-1995, representing both plaintiffs and defendants, and both individuals and companies. He currently serves as Oklahoma County Bar Association president. He has been outspoken on the constitutional mandate for a strong, independent, nonpolitical judiciary in Oklahoma, allowing the judges to make decisions based on the facts, the law and nothing else. He has received the OBA Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award, OCBA Professional Service Award, OCBA Community Service Award and Journal Record Leadership in Law award. He serves on the board of multiple charities and graduated from Washington University in St. Louis School of Law in 1993.

The Judicial Nominating Commission is charged with selecting candidates for judicial appointments made by the governor. When there is a judicial vacancy on the Oklahoma Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals or the Court of Civil Appeals, the commission chooses a field of three candidates from which the governor will make her appointment. Oklahoma trial court judges are elected by popular vote, however mid-term vacancies are also filled by the nominating process.

The six lawyer members of the commission each represent districts that mirror Oklahoma’s six congressional districts as they existed in 1967, when the commission was created. Elections are held each odd-numbered year for members from two districts. The Oklahoma Bar Association is charged with conducting the elections.

In addition to the six lawyer members of the Judicial Nominating Commission, there are six nonlawyers appointed by the governor and three atlarge members. Of those three, one is selected by the speaker of the House of Representatives, one is selected by president pro tempore of the Senate and one is selected by at least eight commission members. All serve six-year terms, except the members at large who serve two-year terms. More information about the Judicial Nominating Commission is available at