2014 Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award Recipients

By Deirdre O. Dexter

Since 1996 the Spotlight Awards have been given annually to five women who have distinguished themselves in the legal profession and who have lighted the way for other women. The award was later renamed to honor 1996 OBA President Mona Salyer Lambird, who died in 1999, and as first woman to serve as OBA president, was one of the award’s first recipients. The award is sponsored by the OBA Women in Law Committee. Each year all previous winners nominate and select the current year’s recipients. A plaque bearing the names of all recipients hangs at the Oklahoma Bar Center in Oklahoma City. The 2014 recipients are:


Molly A. Aspan is a shareholder of Hall Estill, where she has been in private practice since 2003. In 2006, she was named the Tulsa County Bar Association Young Lawyer of the Year, and she was recognized as the OBA’s Outstanding Young Lawyer in 2011. In 2013, she received a Tulsa County Bar Association President’s Award as well as the OBA Outstanding Service to the Public Award. She has served as chair of the OBA Young Lawyers Division and has served on the OBA Board of Governors and the TCBA Board of Directors. She has chaired the Disaster Response and Relief Committee since 2011, and in 2013 she was instrumental in the OBA’s efforts to assist tornado victims. In addition to her involvement with the OBA and TCBA, she has served in leadership positions with Legal Aid Services of Oklahoma, American Inns of Court Council Oak/Johnson-Sontag Chapter, Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa, Resonance Center for Women and Junior League of Tulsa. She was a recipient of the 2012 Leadership in Law award presented by the Journal Record.


Judge Lisa Tippings Davis was in private practice from 1984 until 1992, when she joined the Oklahoma Office of Attorney General. She served in the office from 1992 until 2003, working first in the civil litigation division, representing the state of Oklahoma and its agencies and employees in state and federal court, and later being contracted to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Following her service in the Attorney General’s Office, she served as general counsel to Gov. Brad Henry. On Dec. 7, 2009, she was appointed as a district judge for Oklahoma County. She presided over a criminal felony docket from December 2009 until August 2011, and she presided over a civil docket from March 2011 until February 2014 when Chief Justice Colbert appointed her as presiding juvenile judge. In her short tenure, she has streamlined many of the court procedures, revamped many of the forms to make them more “user friendly” and she has worked closely with all the agencies involved in the juvenile system to get their cooperation in reassessing the way juvenile matters are handled. Judge Davis is a member of the of the American Inns of Court Holloway Chapter, and she is president
for 2014-2015. She is active in the Oklahoma County Bar As-sociation and is currently on its board of directors.


Kay Floyd, after two years in private practice, became an assistant attorney general for the state of Oklahoma working in both the civil and criminal divisions. In 1987, she became deputy executive director for the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission during the development of Oklahoma’s equine industry. In 1989, was appointed as an administrative law judge for the state of Oklahoma and served in that capacity for 22 years. She also served as a special municipal court judge for the City of Oklahoma City during that time. She has served as an adjunct professor at Oklahoma State University and as an attorney for the senior citizens division of Legal Aid of Western Oklahoma. She has worked as a volunteer on the Citizens Action Committee for the Oklahoma City Animal Shelter. She is a founding member and vice president of the board of directors for the Justice Alma Wilson SeeWorth Academy, which was established in 1998 and currently serves 485 at-risk youth in the Oklahoma City community. She is active in the OBA, serving as a member of the Women in Law Committee, Legislative Monitoring Committee, and Government and Administrative Law Practice Section. In 2011, she was elected to the House of Representatives and in June 2014 was elected to the Oklahoma Senate.


Jan Grant-Johnson has been an active member of the OBA, Cleveland County Bar Association and community for many years. For the past 10 years, she has volunteered with Legal Aid, handling numerous pro bono cases. She has also volunteered her time with Oklahoma Lawyers for America’s Heroes and OBA disaster response and relief efforts. She has served on the OBA Professional Responsibility Tribunal and as a member of various committees, including Mentoring, Ethics, Law School, and Bench & Bar, as well as the CCBA Bench & Bar Committee. She is a member of the OBA Family Law Section and is a frequent speaker on family law issues presented to CLE attendees, law students and public school students. She has also volunteered her time in the community for many years, including her work with Ponca City’s Opportunity Home for Developmentally Disabled, Women’s Resource Center Board of Directors, Indian Nations Presbytery Personnel Committee, Judicial Family Institute Executive Board, Conference of Chief Justices and the Marland Mansion Commission. She is a certified mediator and serves as a court-appointed and private-selection guardian ad litem expert and parenting coordinator.


Judge Kimberly E. West serves as a United States magistrate judge for the Eastern District of Oklahoma in Muskogee. Judge West obtained her bachelor’s degree from OU in 1980 and her juris doctorate degree from the OCU School of Law in 1983. She was admitted to practice in Oklahoma in 1983 and began her legal career in private practice with the firm of Bennett, Taylor and West in Ada. In 1986 Judge West became associated with the firm of Lambert, Roberts & Jacques in Ada, where she continued in private practice until 1990, when Gov. Henry Bellmon appointed her to the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court. She moved to Norman where she resided until 1993 when she moved to Tulsa. She served on the Workers’ Compensation Court for six years. Upon leaving the court in 1996, she became a partner with the firm of Rhodes Hieronymus Jones Tucker & Gable in Tulsa. In April 2000, she was appointed as a part-time United States magistrate judge for the District Court for the Eastern District of Oklahoma in Muskogee. In March 2005, Judge West was appointed to serve as a full-time United States magistrate judge for the Eastern District.

Originally published in the Oklahoma Bar Journal - Oct. 4, 2014 - Vol. 85, No.26

Webcast encores are available for OBA/CLE seminars. View the catalog and sign up today.